Interview with Azarel: Owner of Life Changing Books Publishing

Posted: November 10, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

rev1

 

 

 

 

Q: You were at one point a teacher which is very different from being the owner of a well-known publishing company. What made you change your career path?

I sort of fell into publishing.  I was pregnant at one point during my teaching career and received news that I had to be put on bed rest. That took me by surprise, especially when they said, “Six months!” A family member suggested that I spend my time wisely, by writing a book. I took a stab at it and penned my first novel, “A Life to Remember,” while on bed rest. I had just finished my Masters in Education so it was a bitter-sweet moment when I decided not to go back to the classroom. I created Life Changing Books (LCB) and sold 5,000 copies of my novel so quickly through my distribution channels that I knew, I had embarked on a new career.

 Q: You’re not only the owner but also a successful writer with titles that has gained you much attention. Which of your titles are you most proud of or count as your best work?

My novel ‘Bruised’ is closest to my heart. It’s based on a true story and always makes me feel like I’m watching a Lifetime Movie when I discuss it. It’s gritty yet informative. It’s also a piece of work that doesn’t put me in a box. People of all ages can relate. My most successful title in terms of sales has been “Daddy’s House”. People love sex, drama, and craziness, so I guess it hit the spot. LOL

Q:  Life Changing Books has shaken the urban fiction publishing world with some of the hottest titles around. Did you always know you wanted to own a publishing company?

I never wanted to be a writer or own a publishing company. I’ve always been an entrepreneur even while teaching, so I knew I would always run companies, but not at this level. LCB became successful rather quickly and became my passion even quicker. I began meeting motivated authors like Tiphani , who penned The Millionaire Mistress Series and J. Tremble wrote Secrets of a Housewife early in the company’s history. From there, the company skyrocketed because my authors really wanted to become successful.

Q: Many writers are interested in learning what it takes to be selected by a reputable publishing company. What are you usually looking for in a writer?

We want unique stories. It seems that every book on the shelf is similar to the masses. Also, at LCB we normally look for writers who have researched the industry and know how to do the basics; have a properly formatted manuscript, have a pre-mature marketing plan, and come with the passion to become a best seller.

Q: How many titles has Life Changing Books Publishing Company published so far?

To date, we’ve published 86 titles; 10 of which are National Bestsellers and 1 New York Times Best Seller (Game Over by Winter Ramos).

 Q: What’s next for your company and its league of writers?

We’re super excited over here at LCB.  Some projects we can’t discuss at the moment but will eventually blow your mind. Let’s just say, we haven’t stopped at producing books. We have one book series that is headed for TV.  In addition, a few books have been turned into scripts. There’s so much more. Check out the behind the scenes here.

 Q: Where can fans, readers and writers alike find out more about you and your company?

LCB is everywhere! We love our readers wholeheartedly. Contact us at  www.lifechangingbooks.net

@lcbooks

Facebook- LCB

IG- @Lcbooks

Kisses!

Azarel

Comments

Leave a Reply

