Dealing with Rejection Letters

Posted: July 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

In the writing game we authors know we run the risk of rejection. It can be as painful as a physical cut and as damaging to the ego as being dumped by the love of your life. No matter who you are as a writer, rejection is almost inevitable. it has happened to the best of them. You spend years working on your novel, you read it and reread and revise and then you work on the best synopsis in the world. However, a “sorry you are not what we are looking for” letter still manages to creep its way into your mailbox. How unfair! I have been asked by a few friends and family members as well as readers how do I deal with rejection letters and I wanted to share my coping mechanisms. Enjoy!!!!

Never Take it Personal

I never take rejection letters personal. Count it against my over inflated confidence. Seriously, I try to not view it personally but look at it as the company being bombarded with hundreds if not thousands of submissions. Many publishers are bombarded with manuscripts, query letters and tons of requests to view the work of writers. My work may not have been a fit or it wasn’t as marketable as the next manuscript.

Ask for Feeback

Whenever I send a query letter and the first few chapters of my work I always ask for a bit of feedback if it is rejected. This helps me understand why they are saying no. If more than one publisher is saying no for the same reason then I modify my manuscript to make it better. It may be grammar it could be weird sentence structure, My characters or dialogue may not be believable; what ever it is I ask for feedback so I can pinpoint the problem. If they say it is due to not knowing how to market I usually send a query letter to the next publisher with possible marketing strategies. This allows them to see that I am involved in my success.

Never Stop Writing

I find that the more I write the better I become in my genre. If you master your craft of writing you will become better at creating compelling synopsis’ that will suck in your reading audience. Always find time for writing even if it is unrelated to your current work of fiction.

Have Someone Else Read It

The next query letter you write have someone else read it. Ask them to check for spelling, sentence flow and if it makes sense. Do not have your parents or siblings read it unless they are the most critical people you know. Believe it or not it critics can work to your advantage. If you’re trying to get ahead in the writing game you don’t need people only interested in giving you positive feedback to avoid hurting you.

Rejection letters may come but you should never give up. Let it make you stronger. Look for ways to sharpen your craft and iron out your kinks and be diligent. Send your request to multiple publishers and be sure to always send in your best work preferably already edited. Leave the decision maker with no reason to reject your work and you will always feel better.

Would love some feedback. So I am posting a question.

How do you deal with rejection letters from publishers?

If you enjoyed the post please remember to like

Remember to follow for more Urban Fiction News, Reviews and Resources!!!!!!!

Comments
  1. […] Dealing with Rejection Letters (platinumstarz.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] and “For whom?” If you create with only your self in mind, you will likely acquire rejection letters. You require a distinct method, one that is aimed toward a certain […]

Leave a Reply

