Just wanted to share some good news with my readers. I recently released my debut urban fiction tale Platinum Dust (Part One)  which is a part of a three-part trilogy. I self-published through Booktango back in April. (The service at Booktango is incredible by the way) Since Platinum Dust’s release I am proud to announce that I have managed to gain lots of 5 star reviews including reviews on Straight Official, Goodreads and Amazon to name a few.

With such good feedback I decided that I would take the gamble of submitting my novel to a few publishers of the urban fiction genre so I sent over the first 4 chapters, the synopsis and a query letter to their submission departments not expecting to hear back for several months. I submitted to two companies LFF Publishing and Life Changing Books initially and crossed my fingers. Within a few days I received a reply requesting the full manuscript. I was ecstatic to say the least. Then I received a message on Facebook from the owner of Just Wright Publications. He came across my author page and asked did I self publish the ebook and was I in print. Per his request I submitted a copy of my complete manuscript including the book cover.

Within two weeks I was contacted by both LFF publishing and Just Wright Publications offering me a three book deal. They both also thought my ability to market and promote my work was an asset and thought I may be able to work on their publishing team in PR. For the first time in my creative writing career I have two publishers fighting for my attention.

After reviewing both contracts I have decided to sign with Just Wright Publications. They offered the best deal with a three book contract. I am super excited and want to thank everyone who already purchased a copy of Platinum Dust!!!

Comments
  1. Hi Ms. Baylor
    I would first like to congratulate on your publishing deal. I would like to thank you for your blog on Urban Liturature. I have been writing for many years however, I have just decided to get serious about my craft. I was excited when I came across your blog and I always appreciate your insight. I have received a two book deal with 50/50 on publishing from SBRP and they are continuously upping the offer. I wanted to see if I can get a Gstreet Chronicles contract because I know they deal in Urban Lit and I had never heard of the first company. I would like to know how you feel about how companies market your work and also What should be your determining factor on which contract you choose.

    I read your last blog about how you want to market. I am kind of shy and I can’t see myself selling books out of my car so could you give me some ideas on the traditional publishing. I really don’t have a thousand dollars to publish. I am the true definition of starving artist. Lol
    Again thanks for your advise I really appreciate it

    Sincerely
    Carmen

    • kcbaylor says:

      HI Carmen, Well first thank you for the well wishes. In answer to your questions about accepting the best contract deal for me its a few different things. First, look at the terms, if they are taking all of your rights and leaving you with minimal creative space then it may not be worth it. If they are not offering at least industry standard in royalties it may also not be worth it.

      Companies are responsible for the distribution of your books, they are also responsible for some of the marketing however, many new authors don’t realize they are responsible for marketing their work also if they plan to meet their goals. You may not be one to hustle your books out of your car trunk but you may think of creative ways to get the word out about your work. Every advertising method doesn’t cost an arm and a leg.

      • Thanks for promptly getting back to me. They wants to split 50/50 on publishing and royalties but the say I can keep all rights and leave if someone is offering me teaditional. So I was just trying to get it finish first. Trying to decide how to end it but then I realized that it is a sequel. So I can really lead them to the next one crisis averted. Lol

      • kcbaylor says:

        It may just be me but they are asking you to pay 50% of publishing and you can keep 50% royalties? That doesn’t sound like a very good idea. Primarily because it would be double the work. The company name again is?

      • The comp is SBRP. They sent me four different ones. They keep changing so maybe I’m getting them confused. Would you like to see a couple of them? If so I could email to you but, I don’t want them seen by your readers. Let me know if you would like to read.I really appreciate you taking time for me.

      • kcbaylor says:

        I would loved to read them but you would need them sent to the email on my contact me page. They sent you four different contracts? Contact me on my email and we can continue this discussion if you’d like

      • Good Morning K.C I’m sorry I conked out on you. I would love to share them with you. What email address would you like me to send? Thank you again for your kindness. Have an awesome day!

      • I just received another offer from them and I posed the question about the 50/50 royalties. I ll see if I get a response.

  2. Queen Tyniese says:

    I think thats wonderful, Congradulations

    Queen Bossy

  3. I just read over some things that I must have missed on your blogs. Please disregard question about teaditional pub. Because I forgot that I bought your book on publishing months ago. I have it on Kindle I guess it slipped my mind. I do remember the main thing is getting it finished. Ty Carmen

  4. pdlbooks says:

    I am so happy for u. I hope the luck keeps running into our favor. It’s hard for an incarcerated first time author of the urban genre to expose his work without some help. Hopefully his books SLAVE TO THE TRADE that is self published and currently for sale on Amazon and URBAN LOVE that is completed and in the editing phase will grab ahold of a company or two  as well. Keep up ur great work! I can’t wait to get the ebooks.

    Sent from my Galaxy S®III

  5. This is the most wonderful news ever! Congratulation! This is very encouraging.

  6. Sean Wright says:

    you are a hard worker and a great writer and you deserve it

  7. DoreenSherie says:

    Congratulations!!!! I know that must feel good to have all of your hard work payoff. I can not wait for the 2nd & 3rd part of this trilogy. God is Good!!!!!

Leave a Reply

