Urban Fiction Writing Contest Winner

Posted: June 25, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I have  a special treat for everyone. I was able to interview the Urban Fiction writing contest winner Chanelle McAllister, her winning story Vixen won me over with great attention to detail and a storyline had me at hello. Hopefully everyone will enjoy it as much as I have. Please read her Interview below and an excerpt of her story with a link to my tumblr page for the rest of the story.

Interview with Chanelle McAllister

Q: When did you discover you had a gift for writing?

I discovered my gift for writing when I was in the fifth grade, but I didn’t begin writing seriously until I got to middle school. I wrote a story about a group of teenage friends. I went back and read it, it was pretty terrible, but the whole eighth grade class loved it. It was being passed all around. It seriously was like the talk of the eighth grade at one point. Everyone would come up to me and ask, “Did you write anything new?”, “Did you bring the book today?”, it was a great feeling, and by time I got to high school, I was like that’s it, I don’t care, I’m going to write for the rest of my life. I wanna be an author, I wanna have million of books, I just want to write. I love writing, everything from coming up with characters, their stories, dialogues, everything. I’m always looking for my next idea, that’s like all I think about.

Q: Is Urban Fiction your favorite genre or the genre you are most comfortable writing in?

It is definitely one of my genres to read and write, but I don’t want to write urban fiction all the time. I would like to step out of my comfort zone sometimes and tell different kinds of stories, not just ones about urban life.

Q: Is there a process for character development or do you develop your ideas and wrap your characters around the idea?

Usually, the character comes first, their name, the way they look, etc., and then I come up with their story. For example, when I came up with Star from Vixen, I was watching a movie on BET called Video Girl, and I thought, I should write a story about a video vixen, then I thought about how I wanted her to be this free spirited person, who didn’t listen to people, and didn’t want to be what others wanted her to be. Her whole mental disorder, I’m not sure where that came from, but I just went with it. That works sometimes too, just letting the idea come to me as I write.

Q: Who is your favorite Urban Fiction Writer?

My favorites are Noire, Wahida Clark, and I love, love, love T. Styles.

Q: Where do you plan on taking your writing career?

I want to one day become a bestselling author, and I would also like to start my own publishing company.

Q: Are there any new books in the works?

Yes! I am actually close to completing my first novel. It is currently untitled, but hopefully by the time I’m done typing it, something catchy will have come to mind.

 

Sample of Vixen by Chanelle McAllister

I never listened to what people told me to do. A true insubordinate, a rebel without a cause, the two phrases summed me up perfectly. If a label said, “Caution: hot”, I’d gently press my fingers against the object, just to see how hot it actually was. If a sign said, “road work ahead”, instead of detouring, I’d drive my car down the street, just to see exactly what they were doing. The idea of being told what to do never sat well with me. My teachers, my friends, my parents, I didn’t care who it was; nobody was going to tell Star Hayes what to do. I was my own person, I had my own mind and I could make my own decisions. Whether people thought they were good decisions or not, that shit didn’t concern me. I had my own life to live, and so did they, which meant they had no business meddling in my business. My dad tried to tell me what to do, constantly. He was a perfectionist and everything had to be his way or the highway. His controlling ways were the reason we barely got along now. I was his oldest child, and before I was even born, he already had my life planned out. I would breeze through elementary, middle, and high school getting nothing but straight A’s, and after that, I would attend an Ivy League college graduating Summa Cum Laude. After college, he imagined me working some nine to five, making six figures or something like that. HMPH! The devil was a got damn liar! That fairytale was some bullshit and I crushed my dad’s dreams as soon as I got to high school. For what it’s worth, elementary and middle did go according to his plans. I loved school back then and nothing pleased me more than running home to show my parents a report card full of good grades. By time I got to high school, all that went right out the window. School was draining. It did nothing but trap me for 8 hours a day and contain my creative freedom with rules. School wasn’t for a girl like me. I needed to express myself when I felt like it. I needed to be able to wear what I wanted to wear, say what I wanted to say, be who I wanted to be. Needless to say, I didn’t go to any Ivy League college. Hell, I barely made it out of high school. Now before all of you start judging me, listen to this. I am a very smart girl, but my talent is not in academics, it’s in making art. Yup, I’m one of those girls.  I was too creative to be bound by homework, and deadlines, and nine to five’s. That shit was for bitches with no character, no personality, and no sense of imagination. I had all three and lots of each. I needed to seen, and not by some old ass lady, or a college graduate, who sat in front of me at an office cubicle. I needed to seen, wanted, and adored by millions. I wanted to be star and I had every right to wanna be just that. I mean, that’s what my mama named me, what the hell did they expect? Star Hayes wasn’t fit for the Ivy League, or an office job, or being average. Shit, average people wanted to remain average, so they wouldn’t get bothered. I wanted people to bother me all day long.

***

“Star, why do you strip?” Kay asked, as I cracked four eggs in a bowl and stirred them together. She was my best friend and just as square as she wanted to be. I guess you could say we were best friends by force and not by choice. Our moms were lifelong friends that got pregnant at the same time and popped us out two weeks apart. If that wouldn’t have happened, I’d hate to say it, but we probably wouldn’t be friends right now. Kay and I were the total opposite of one another. We often bumped heads over the pettiest little things. She didn’t understand my way of life and I loathed hers. Kay often tried to see life from my point of view, whereas I could less about her point. I rolled my eyes and contemplated if I should even answer her. We had this conversation at least three times a month, and at this point, I was sick of the shit. It was like she was expecting my answer to change.

“Kay, must we go through this every time you come over here?” I asked. “My answer is not going to change.” I thought if I made that clear she’d finally drop the issue.

“I know, but I just don’t understand.” She started, “I mean, you have—“

“’Stop trying to understand,” I cut her off, as I moved our eggs around in the pan. She ignored my blatant attempt at trying to avoid the conversation and continued talking anyway.

“You don’t have to strip. You come from a good home; your parents have money, and everything. I mean, it’s not like you’re stripping to feed a child, or put to yourself through school. You just do it for no reason.”

These are times I hated her. She always had to make sense of things. She was right though, I didn’t have to strip. I did it to prove a point. After high school, I tried to reason with my Daddy. I told him I’d go to college under one condition, if I could study dance. When I told him that, he looked at me like I had a third eye in the middle of my forehead and told me absolutely not. “No child of mine will go to school for dance! It’s a waste of time and my damn money!” That’s what he told me. I asked why they let me take ballet classes, if I couldn’t pursue a career in dance and he laughed in my face. He told me that dance was hobby and there was no money in it. I showed his ass. I made more than enough money dancing at KOD. Stripping kept my lights on, my car note paid, and designers in my closet, so I be damned if dancing was a waste of time. Dancing was more than a hobby to me, it was my creative outlet. Sure, it wasn’t modern dance or ballet, and it involved me getting naked for horny strangers, but eventually, it was going to take me places. I didn’t give a damn what daddy dearest said.

I sighed. “I strip because I want to. It’s my decision and my life, and I really wish you and Car would stop trying to get me to stop. I’ll stop when I’m ready.” Car, short for Carmen, was my little sister. She was eighteen years old and had just started college at Penn State. Carmen was perfect. She was the daughter my parents wished I would’ve been. Like Kay, Carmen couldn’t comprehend why I did things I did. But how could they comprehend? They were nothing like me. I was a free spirit and they were boring as hell.

Kay shrugged. “Hmm, I think you want to be defiant. You were always like that. I was hoping you’d grow out of it.”

“You can’t grow out of personality Kay,” I said. “Just leave me alone.” I removed the eggs from the stove and put an equal amount on separate plates. Stirring the pancake batter, I suddenly became excited. Million of thoughts raced through my mind, like a pack of cheetahs running free in the wild. Thoughts of my rise to fame danced around, bringing the biggest smile to my face.

“You really wanna know why I strip!? I strip because I know it’s going to lead to something bigger for me. I know one day someone will walk into that club, meet me, put me in a video, and after that, you won’t be able to walk three steps without seeing me on a magazine.” I stood there grinning from ear to ear, thinking of the day when I’d finally be famous. Nothing made me happier. Thoughts of fame kept me going. I had something to prove, and even though my grind hadn’t paid off in the three years I had been stripping, I knew my time was coming. Kay let out the loudest laugh, snapping me out of my daydream.

 

Please follow the link to my tumblr page http://www.tumblr.com/blog/kcbaylor to continue reading.  You can reach Chanelle McAllister for questions, interviews or to follow her writing by visiting her at  twitter @Nellzsunshine, or email chanellemca@yahoo.com, nellieboo09@yahoo.com

Don’t forget to like if you enjoyed this post and remember to follow my blog for more Urban Fiction News, Reviews and Resources!!!!

Leave a Reply

