My American Dream: A mirage

Posted: September 16, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Occasionally I feel the need to venture away from my norm and today is one of those days. I was thinking today about the “American Dream” and discovered how far away I actually am from it. This whimsical ideal of homeownership (complete with white picket fence), a husband with two children and a cute and loveable dog with a six figure power seat in a corporate office is an illusion.

A few times during a dry spell in my life I could see the image of this illusive American dream far off in the distance. It would drift nearer and nearer taunting me with hope and possibilities. No matter how fast I run to meet it, to feel its living, breathing expectation of success I find it slip through my fingers like liquid silk. The American dream represents a sense of stability. It stands for a life with minimal worries about finances and provides its people with a level in which to strive.  I must admit my life has some remnants of this illusive dream. I am a mother, a wife and I work as a licensed insurance agent for one of the top insurance companies. I also just purchased my dream car and have a few more vacation days provided to me. However, I am not making a six figure income and don’t have the funds to take my family on numerous vacations throughout the air.

Then I began to think of what my American dream would look like if I could mold or shape it into existence. I would be a successful writer, who makes a sizeable living doing what I love. I would be able to gather inspiration while traveling to some of the most beautiful places on earth. I wouldn’t have to worry about the possibility of not having social security in my old age as I would have more money than I could spend in a lifetime. My American dream includes me having a moment to see the roses. I mean really see, smell and enjoy the wonders of the world around me.

Comments
  1. […] My American Dream: A mirage (platinumstarz.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] My American Dream: A mirage (platinumstarz.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

